WARNING: TrailBoss tow bar DOES NOT fit Landcruiser 79 series

Submitted: Friday, Feb 26, 2021 at 10:03
ThreadID: 141147 Views:7680 Replies:5 FollowUps:23
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,

I am a newbie to caravanning, have limited experience of course, but I have a serious warning to everyone, who might be effected.

We bought a new van one-and-half years ago. In 2016, I had a TrailBoss tow bar installed on my LC 79 series (dual cab, 2014). For two years, I wasn't using that at all. Since August 2019, I have been towing a 2t caravan - never overloaded - on the sealed roads only.

About a month ago, I found two bolts were completely severed and the captive nuts were broken off inside the LC frame. I could move the tow bar up and down with my hands.

We could have been seriously injured or killed, or even worse - could have killed innocent people on the road.

Took my truck to two different mechanics (RACQ approved Service Station and Toyota Service Centre) for independent opinions. The verdict from both places - "This tow bar does not fit the LC 79 series. It was a 'back-yard' quality job done in the first place".

Please, see the photos. The big gaps, between the frame and the towbar on both sides, were filled in with metal washes.

I am not sure, if I am allowed to name the company on the Gold Coast, which installed the TrailBoss.
I phoned the company. They couldn't find any records of that job. I sent an email request to the manager - no reply.

I have all the paperwork to prove the installation. If anyone would need details, please give me you private e-mail and I am more than happy to provide you with the info.

So, my warning is:
1)TrailBoss towbar does not fit the LandCruiser 79 series, dual cab. If you have the same bar installed onto your Landcruiser, please check it ASAP.
2)The well-known company on the Gold Coast dangerously cutting corners in selling and installing those bars.

Back Expand Un-Read 3 Moderator