Trek Comment: Simpson Desert French Line

Hi there, novice here but full on nerd. Had experience in sand driving but never this level. Over prepared to be honest because I couldn't find a group to join. So traveling a bit heavy. Keen to hit up Simpson French line+slight detours on Monday June 17/2019. Would love the company or advice. I'll be in a funky looking orange jeep called cheeto, I'd love to join a convoy.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Mikee5 - Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 07:17

Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 07:17
At that time of year it will be a busy place. You won't be alone. We did it solo without problems.
AnswerID: 626188

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 07:30

Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 07:30
Correct, it might be remote from shops and garages, but certainly not remote from people.
FollowupID: 899884

Follow Up By: Member - nickb "boab" - Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 08:03

Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 08:03
Keep your weight to a minimum ..weight is a killer.
Cheers Nick b

My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

FollowupID: 899885

Reply By: Michael M34 - Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 09:36

Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 09:36
As you say your're inexperienced with remote travel but have the sense to ask questions.
Get your fuel, water and food issues sorted then develop a list of all the gear you think you 'need'
Then throw half of it out. Don't take this as a literal interpretation but an attitude that critically looks at the difference between what you want and what you need.

Overloaded vehicles are a recipe for disaster

Cheers
AnswerID: 626191

Reply By: OBJ - Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 18:05

Friday, Jun 14, 2019 at 18:05
Not quite what you want as an answer, but you may like to consider a tag along. You pay, but you travel with experienced guides. People like Ron Moon, Trent Moon and Vic Widman run these fairly often. Might be a safer option.

I am crossing the Simpson via the Madigan Line on such a tour later this year.